our history

It was in 1923, with a faith rediscovered during the First World War, that Maurice Chéret took over rue du Vieux Colombier (Paris 6th) a company in the tradition of St.Sulpice, the Cabaret House founded under the Restoration. Maurice Chéret believed in his time and from the beginning opted for a contemporary expression. He has in his team the creator Dudeffant, and collaborates with Jean Lambert Rucki.

Poincon de maître, maison Chéret

In 1953, his son Jean joined the Society. Father and son continue their action and participate in prestigious achievements of the time: the Cathedral of Bogota, the Underground Basilica of Lourdes, the Chapel of Orly Airport, the Liner France.

Jean Chéret became responsible for the Society when his father died in 1966. Himself a creator, he boldly developed the contemporary option and collaborated with architects Pinsard and Vago. He created AAM Atelier d’Application du Métal opening the workshops to lay creations. He will thus face the crisis of activity brought about by the reflection of the religious world during the Second Vatican Council. Jean Chéret edits objects and lighting in collaboration with other designers including Jacques Moniquet, Patrick Augelet and gives their chance to young designers. In 1976, he moved the workshops to the 11th arrdt, keeping a store-gallery on rue Madame.

With his death in 1982, Claude his wife ensures continuity in essentially liturgical achievements, establishing a flexible organization that allows to adapt to the programs to be treated while ensuring the continuity of the Chéret spirit.

In 2017, the Chéret store moves from its hitorical location to a new adress, 7 rue Mayet in the 6th arrondissement.

Since summer 2020, Maison Chéret is driven by Antoine Chevillard. He ensures its continuity with the usual team as well as the advice of Claude Chéret.

notre histoire

C’est en 1923 avec une foi retrouvée pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, que Maurice Chéret reprend rue du Vieux Colombier (Paris 6ème) une entreprise dans la tradition de St.Sulpice, la Maison Cabaret fondée sous la Restauration. Maurice Chéret croit en son temps et dès le début opte pour une expression contemporaine. Il a dans son équipe le créateur Dudeffant, et collabore avec Jean Lambert Rucki.

Poincon de maître, maison Chéret

En 1953, son fils Jean entre dans la Société. Père et fils poursuivent leur action et participent à des réalisations prestigieuses de l’époque : la Cathédrale de Bogota, la Basilique souterraine de Lourdes, la Chapelle de l’aéroport d’Orly, le Paquebot France.

Jean Chéret devient responsable de la Société à la mort de son père en 1966. Lui-même créateur, il développe avec audace l’option contemporaine, collabore aux travaux des architectes Pinsard et Vago. Il créé AAM Atelier d’Application du Métal ouvrant les ateliers à des créations profanes. Il fera face ainsi à la crise d’activité amenée par la réflexion du monde religieux pendant le Concile Vatican II. Jean Chéret édite des objets, des luminaires en collaboration avec d’autres créateurs dont Jacques Moniquet, Patrick Augelet et donne leur chance à de jeunes créateurs. En 1976, il déplace les ateliers dans le 11ème arrondissement, conservant un magasin-galerie rue Madame.

A sa mort en 1982, Claude son épouse assure la continuité dans des réalisations essentiellement liturgiques, mettant en place une organisation souple qui permet de s’adapter aux programmes à traiter tout en assurant la continuité de l’esprit Chéret.

En 2017, le boutique Chéret déménage de son adresse historique pour le 7, rue Mayet dans le 6ème arrondissement.

Depuis l’été 2020, la maison Chéret a été confiée à Antoine Chevillard. Il en assure la continuité avec l’équipe habituelle ainsi que les conseils de Claude Chéret.